clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The One Dribble Corollary

Suddenly, the Chris Kaman one dribble rule is everywhere.  After Art Thompson III referenced it in yesterday's OCR, Jason Reid dedicated most of today's Clippers Report in the LAT to it.  

You know, if the one dribble rule is really that important in Kaman's improved play of late, one wishes that Kim Hughes had started reading ClipsNation a little sooner.  We could have gotten Chris through his rough patch way back in mid-November, when I first suggested this.

I am a little confused however.  Both Thompson and Reid worded the rule itself in similar fashion:  

  • Reid: "...dribble only once before making his move toward the basket."

  • Thompson: "...make his move to the basket or attempt his shot after making one dribble."

In both cases, it sounds as if Chris is allowed one dribble, a rhythm dribble as it were, before he makes his move, at which point he can dribble to his heart's content.  WRONG!  When I read what Thompson wrote, I assumed he had just worded it poorly.  But the fact that Reid's wording today is so similar makes me worry that the Clippers' coaches have implemented my rule incorrectly.  

The goal should be one dribble, period.  I mean, if you're going to call it the one dribble rule, then let's get tough.  It's not the one dribble guideline.  It's not the one dribble suggestion.  It's the one dribble rule!  And it probably should be the one dribble law.  

If Kaman is receiving the entry pass in good position, there's really no place he can't get in one dribble if he goes strong, which the rule coincidentally encourages him to do.  But the most important thing is the double-team.  If a double-team comes before he has used his dribble, he can still use it to escape.  Most double-teams come on the dribble, and if he only takes one dribble, then he will have gotten his shot before the double arrives.  However, if the double comes on the first dribble, and he takes a second one, it's going to be a turnover about half the time.  

Another benefit of this rule:  if he adheres to it most of the time, it makes the double-team decision a lot tougher.  If he consistently limits himself to a single dribble, the defenses will have to double him earlier, or eschew the double altogether.  Early in the season, the scouting report on him was easy - send a guard at him as soon as it puts it on the floor.

Let's keep an eye on him tonight and see how, in fact, this rule is being implemented.